It’s Tea Time!

I first have some major news… I went for a run this morning! The weather was gorgeous and the sun was out (minor detail, but I was wide awake at 6:10) and off I went!

The flowers were gorgeous in Regent’s Park

20120508-224747.jpg

… And these doggies were having a good time! It was nice to be back out there and my hip felt some better, not great… but just fine for 3.5 miles!

20120508-224816.jpg

Of course, I quickly got home and ready for work. But, it was a very nice start to the day. I also had a wonderful end to the day!

My parents, Lauren and I went to The Ritz for afternoon tea! We had a reservation for 5:30. As soon as my work conference call ended, we were out the door!

We walked in and everything was so beautiful and elegant. We had the 5:30 seating as I wanted to make sure Lauren was still in a good mood – 7:30 would have been miserable for all of us as that is close to bed time!

They gave us a perfect table that had a spot where Lauren could stand between my mum and me and look at herself in the mirror!

20120508-225259.jpg

The atmosphere was very nice, elegant and fun. The pianist played requests and did an incredible job!

20120508-225436.jpg

Our table was set up perfectly and they had a very wide range of tea selections, but bubbles was our starter!

20120508-225555.jpg

They knew exactly how to make Lauren happy – check out this chocolate milk and cake!

20120508-225640.jpg

She was definitely a big girl sitting in the chair!

20120508-225735.jpg

We then moved on to the scones and sweets with our tea.

20120508-225855.jpg

About this time, they brought out a bag for Lauren which had a very plush Ritz Teddy Bear in it – she was so happy and thrilled. As soon as she took it out, she gave him big cuddles! πŸ™‚

20120508-230004.jpg

20120508-230029.jpg

I wanted to get a picture with her, but the focus was on the bear and chocolate milk! Silly girl.

20120508-230112.jpg

Afterwards, we walked around and took a few ‘three generation’ photos. Lauren found an empty ballroom and took that as an opportunity to dance around and twirl in her dress!

20120508-230248.jpg

20120508-230426.jpg

20120508-230446.jpg

I might be a bit sad tomorrow as I can guarantee you that tea time will not be anywhere near this good. Although, I will still probably be full from it! I think they needed to roll me out of there.

One more thing, I am pleased to report that Lauren was an absolute doll through the entire thing! She knew how to flirt and work the crowd, and I can guarantee there were some concerned people when we walked in and they saw a 2 year-old! But, The Ritz definitely knows how to make a kid happy! She loved the bear and chocolate milk! πŸ™‚ I better watch out as my father even pointed out that she was getting a little too cozy with these nice surroundings! πŸ™‚

My favourite sandwich was the egg salad! What is your favourite tea time sandwich?

~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Tea Time!

  1. Rachel says:

    How perfectly lovely! I am jealous! I want to go to that place and have tea too!! I have never been to a fancy place like that for tea. I have been to some local teas where they served cucumber sandwichs and cookies and such. I was not too crazy about the cucumber sandwiches, but I enjoyed the tea and cookies. Lovely pictures of everyone and Lauren is so cute and she is growing up so fast!

  2. Jim says:

    Lovely pictures, Karen. And nice reporting. In another life you might want to be a newspaper society reporter. LOL πŸ™‚
    Dad

    • Jim says:

      Oh yes, my fave sandwich was also the deviled egg salad sandwiches (I had three to your two). But none of the eight kinds was bad, the ham and mustard was second. Even the cucumber one was good!

  3. Awesome. So nice that you are doing all these things with your parents. Can you believe after 6 years in London I still haven’t had tea at the Ritz?!?! Must make it happen this year.

  4. Tammy Hemson says:

    How fun. Tea time and sandwiches. Why didn’t we Americans bring that habit with us to the colonies?

Leave a comment