The Party Doesn’t Stop!

That’s right… The fun continues! I’m sure many of you are wondering why I go into such detail about trips, etc.

I’m thinking ahead to years down the road. I’d like to print out my blog posts and have a ‘memory book.’ Until then, I will share the ins and outs of trips, meals, etc. with each of you! 🙂

So, the fun continued! As mentioned in my previous blog post, I would go out for another run this morning and search for a new route – not quite so uphill! The first 1.5 miles were the same as my prior day jog. Instead of turning left to go straight uphill, I took a right and went down by the beach! Look at these gorgeous views of the beach and island of Molokai.

20120810-164246.jpg

20120810-164309.jpg

20120810-164329.jpg

I had a nice breakfast after my jog and then went down to the pool for some further R&R whilst Billy golfed. However, today was not an all day beach/pool day as we had a helicopter waiting for us!

We hopped in our Ford Mustang Convertible and went close to the Maui main airport to catch the helicopter. I was VERY nervous… Especially as they told me I was sitting in the front seat next to the pilot. Did I mention the entire front was a window?! Yikes!

20120810-164709.jpg

The views were absolutely incredible and we saw loads of lush green spots, waterfalls and the volcano crater. Here are just a few pictures – not even sure they really capture the beauty. We went into some very amazing areas and saw where the opening for Jurassic Park was filmed!

20120810-165243.jpg

20120810-165321.jpg

20120810-165357.jpg

20120810-165444.jpg

20120810-165512.jpg

20120810-165555.jpg

Doesn’t that all look fake or photoshopped? It was incredible! We wasted some time after our helicopter ride in town before heading out to dinner. This dinner was by far one of the best that I’ve EVER had! We ate at Mama’s Fish House.

20120810-170230.jpg

Take a look at the sunset pictures!

20120810-170351.jpg

20120810-170423.jpg

Now, on to the good part… Dinner! Starter: tuna sashimi (absolutely wonderful!); Meal: Lobster and Crab stuffed Mahi Mahi with a lobster tail on the top covered in a beurre blanc sauce (don’t think I need to really say anything further!); Dessert: Black Pearl (wafer ‘shell’ with dark chocolate mousse and a white chocolate mousse center)

20120810-170722.jpg

20120810-170756.jpg

20120810-170817.jpg

On our drive back to the resort, we cruised along with the top down!! It was a perfect end to a wonderful day (after stopping by McDonalds for a $1 Large Diet Coke)!! Then, I fell into a food coma! But, it was so VERY worth it. If you are in Maui, you MUST try this place!

Happy weekend everyone! I’m at the airport lounge bound for Germany!

~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Party Doesn’t Stop!

  1. Arlene says:

    I’d go just for the pretty dessert. All of it looks yummy. I’d stop at Mama’s Fish House because of the name. I think you had a party in your tummy when you were in that food coma. But oh so worth it. BTW, the waterfalls and sunsets looked beautiful. I can close my eyes and feel the breeze on that evening ride back.

  2. Jim says:

    I like your dessert!!! 🙂 It’s pretty and I know sooooo good. You might wan

    • Jim says:

      🙂
      t to go back on your old blogs and make a ‘tag’ that says “Karen Eats” or “The Karen Bunch Eats.” You do post so wonfully looking and I’m sure tasting eats.

      I would have liked to do the helicopter ride also. The views are very pretty. The last time we were on a helicopter was when the one at Juno ferried us (five tourists and a guide) out and back, leaving us out on a big glacier for the four hours in between. You might like to do that. But be careful, the guide had get Mom away from a crevasse that he though she might slide on down into.
      ..

  3. Rachel says:

    Haha! I like your Dad’s comment! You do eat well! That place sounds great and if I’m EVER in Maui I’ll have to remember to try it.That dessert looks so good!! You really got some great views from the helicopter! You have such fun Karen!!

Leave a Reply

