A Weekend With NO Long Run!

This weekend has been a little out of sorts for me. Usually, my weekend is planned around my long run how to fit my long run into my husband’s golf game schedule! Actually, he is really great about making sure I have the time.

Seriously though, Friday is spent drinking tons of water so that I’m hydrated, foods without fibre (sorry, just being honest!) and a balanced dinner to provide adequate fuel and not be overly stuffed! As a family member once told me, the day before a long run… I became even more high maintenance.

Not this weekend!

I was able to visit the running physiotherapist on Tuesday morning at 7:30am! This is the only time I’ve ever seen Abbey Road crossing where the Beatles took their album cover without tourists!

20120204-201938.jpg

Apparently, I have a badly strained gluteus medius. The great news is that it isn’t torn! So, I’m on the bench for this last week and weekend until my next appointment on Monday – where I hope to get GREAT news!

Here is what my rehab entails:
– Voltaren Gel 3x per day
– Biofreeze 3x/day between the Voltaren
– Ice Packs 3x/day
– NO exercise
– Lots of stretching and foam roller use
– Sports Massage (which was not a fluffy massage and almost made me cry in pain!)

I’ve done everything he said, so fingers crossed!

Although, this has been a week and weekend perfect for no running. This week, I had a horrible cold and this weekend it is freezing! Did I mention also some snow this weekend?!

Lauren got a new robe to keep her bundled up and warm!

20120204-202715.jpg

Tonight, we had fun with our neighbors outside playing in the snow! We are supposed to receive 2-4 inches of snow overnight. It came down quite hard earlier tonight and it hasn’t really let up! I can’t wait to wake up tomorrow morning and check things out.

Here is a picture of Lauren and me outside playing in the snow.

20120204-202912.jpg

She loved yelling snow, snow, snow whilst looking out the window this evening. Take a look at the cars and street now.

20120204-203012.jpg

To be honest, I am a bit sad that I won’t be able to head out early tomorrow morning and run in the snow! But, I’m thinking long term here (i.e. April’s Marathon)!

Do you enjoy running in the snow? Has anyone else had a gluteus medius strain… Also known as a pain in the bum! Hahaha… I make myself laugh! 🙂

Enjoy your weekend!
~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Weekend With NO Long Run!

  1. Rachel says:

    The snow is so pretty!!! It’s pretty mild here; more like spring than winter. I’m glad you didn’t have anything torn and hopefully you’ll get the okay to run again soon. I would think that running is very hard on the bones.

    Lauren is just too cute in her new robe!! Adorable!!!

  2. Kelly says:

    Snow!

    It seems like you’re on the right track to recovering! I’ve never had a gluteus medius strain, but it sounds like you’re doing all the right things. Don’t stress! It will heal! Also, Lauren is adorable 🙂

Leave a Reply

