11 Down and 11 To Go!

That was the theme of this weekend’s run… 11 miles down and 11 weeks to go until Paris!

I had a pretty good run on Saturday – it was definitely very scenic and a new route. Although, I panicked on mile 10 (even the mile time was 1 minute slower than the others) as I realized that I had miscalculated the mileage and would be 1.2 miles short.

Sure, the solution is easy… Just keep running and make-up the distance. However, that meant a massive straight uphill for about 0.5 miles! No problem, I did it and got the 11 miles finished. I was pretty down on my time until I got feedback that I am actually running faster than what my plan has me on at this stage for the long run! So, that did make me feel a bit better! I think it goes back to being more consistent on my weekday exercises.

Here was my route

20120122-200104.jpg

You know, my time would probably also be faster if I didn’t stop to take so many pictures… Ha, like that will ever happen! After all, I am my “Father’s Daughter”.

So, here we go with the pictures!

This was the beautiful view as I ran through Hyde Park.

20120122-200626.jpg

Big Ben with the London Eye in the background.

20120122-200700.jpg

As I panicked on trying to figure out how to get the additional mileage for my 11 miles, this went right past me!

20120122-200748.jpg

Some friends came over for dinner on Saturday night and we had super yummy Nando’s!

This morning, we took Bailey to the Heathrow Express for her trip to The Hague! I know she will have so much fun and I can’t wait to hear all about it upon her return.

20120122-201100.jpg

Afterward, we ran afternoon errands and then had a nice break back at the same park from last weekend.

I hope everyone has had a very lovely weekend, as well! Our house will be quiet without a teenager, but I think there is literally something planned each night.

Enjoy your week!
~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11 Down and 11 To Go!

  1. Rachel says:

    Running 11 miles is quite an accomplishment to me, but then you are “Super Woman” though! 🙂
    I think you are right on schedule with your running to be fine in 11 weeks for the big one.
    Nice to see Big Ben and the Parks you run in. What was the horses for? Is that the mounted police? They all look like they have lights in their helmets or maybe that was the sun?

  2. Kelly says:

    nice running! Especially up that gnarly hill. And you’re improving, so keep that in mind if a run here and there get you down! I never get sick of your photos – they totally make me want to come to London just so I can run and explore all of those spots.

Leave a Reply

