Hurricane Bailey Strikes Again

Like any hurricane, there is always a calm before the storm. This hurricane definitely had the ‘calm’ before a major disaster came along.

I left the flat with Lauren to go enjoy a sunny afternoon in the park with friends. It was so much fun – we talked while the kids played football and enjoyed the playground. I also left the kitchen in an immaculate condition…

20111016-163130.jpg

This wasn’t the case AT ALL when I got home. Nope, the hurricane lasted Saturday and Sunday with some lasting damage – 2 glasses were broken! The hurricane did have a root cause – her friend’s birthday outing to the park on Sunday afternoon.

This was the start and first view on Saturday evening. It was also my view when first arriving home.

20111016-163526.jpg

Then, the cakes came out of the oven, kitchen was cleaned up for the night and all was quiet (also known as the eye of the hurricane)…

20111016-163611.jpg

But, Sunday morning was spent making fondant and AGAIN a major mess!

20111016-163702.jpg

Meanwhile, I enjoyed watching ‘Keeping Up Appearances’ with Hyacinth! Yes, this is my absolute favorite tv show and helped to majorly calm my nerves. She is just so funny and this episode was the best! Hyacinth gets a yacht to go around the river, but instead falls in to get SUPER wet. Poor Hyacinth!

20111016-163943.jpg

Eventually, the cake got done and all of her friends thought it was so cool. Let’s hope hurricane season is almost over – I can’t take another one for a while! 🙂

20111016-165412.jpg

~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hurricane Bailey Strikes Again

  1. Rachel says:

    Ariel, Aurora, Belle, Cinderella, Jasmine, Mulan, Pocahontas, Snow White and Tiana, and Rapunzel are the Disney Princesses. Yes, I had to Google it and I hope that’s correct! I haven’t even heard of some of them. I’m behind in my reading, so someone else might have guessed it, like your DAD! Ha!

    It does look like a Hurricane moved through your kitchen. I’m sure the clean up was no fun with sticky powdered sugar everywhere!

    I love Hyacinth too. She is a hoot! I just wish the series had stayed on longer because I have seen them all over and over again. I also love Last of the Summer Wine. I think the one where she fell in the river is one of the best ones of all. That and when she was going to have “waterside supper with riparian entertainment.” In that one she gets drenched too! So funny!!

  2. Mom says:

    One thing I know about Bailey is that when she decides on a mission, it is definitely an elaborate one! I remember being sous chef to her making her dad a birthday cake. My main job was helping her clean as she progressed with the cake. I also did a little consulting. I admire her new project. It looks great and I know how difficult it is to bake in the British oven. Hurricane Bailey is a good title for that kitchen! I would love to have been there to help again.

Leave a Reply

