Texas

What came to your mind when you read the word ‘Texas?’

My oldest daughter goes to a school here in London filled with International students. When everyone found out that she was from Texas, they all asked her if she had her own horse, oil well in the backyard and any other ‘stereotype’ you can imagine – especially those seen in the television show Dallas!

Well, we didn’t have any of that in our backyard! However, my youngest did go for a pony ride when visiting grandparents – But, I don’t think this is what they had in mind!

20110810-045739.jpg

A friend of my oldest daughter posted this message on her Facebook… “when are you going to be back from the land of Cheetos and ponies?” I’m happy to report they got back from Texas today!

20110810-050004.jpg

Also, I wanted to let everyone know we were safe here in London. No problems in our area due to the riots.

I’m curious, what do you think of when you hear ‘Texas?’

~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Texas

  1. Rachel says:

    I usually think of that saying that things are bigger in TX. I also think of cattle ranches and oil wells too!

    I’m glad you are safe over there. I was wondering with the news of the riots going on.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, yes those are definitely the things that come to my mind as well… And, I’m even from Texas! I hope you are having a nice weekend.

  2. Jim says:

    Hi Karen ~~ Just to let you remember, Mimi and the grandfather here (Papa Jim) had her riding horses also: http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2011/04/fun-things-to-do-at-woodlands-houston.html
    ..

Leave a Reply

