How I Entertain Myself on Golf Weekends

Billy really likes to golf. As many know, golf can almost take up an entire day – depending upon the tee time, how far away the golf course is, etc.

I have to be honest, I absolutely love golf weekends! I use this time to do whatever I want (and run errands).

I thought I’d list some of my favorite things:

1. Watching ‘Murder She Wrote’ – this is absolutely one of my favorite tv shows! On the weekends, the Alibi Channel has ‘Murder She Wrote’ marathons on almost every Saturday and Sunday. So Good!!!

20110730-081744.jpg

2. Take Lauren to the Park
3. Go to Whole Foods – This is one of my favorites. I absolutely love going to the grocery store location at High Street Kensington, which is 3 stories!
4. Hang out with my friend Carrie – we have lots of fun and her children are great. Lauren loves them! Also, my husband is usually golfing with her husband!
5. Shopping with Bailey!! Daddy doesn’t usually like this one 🙂
6. Going to Borough Market and then cooking what I get for dinner
7. Getting sushi at YO Sushi in Harvey Nichols – the people watching is great there!

One thing I definitely DON’T do is watch golf on television! I did take a picture of the British Open and apparently Billy was on the tv a lot – helps he was sitting behind the lady who was hit by Phil Mickelson’s ball. Ouch, but she was okay.

20110730-082507.jpg

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! I’m a bit sad as my visit here in Houston comes to an end in exactly 24 hours. 😦

~Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How I Entertain Myself on Golf Weekends

  1. SandySays1 says:

    I know what you mean about having a human that’s chained to watching TV. My human is bananas over football. If there’s a game on he’s in front of the TV remote in hand flipping from game to game. I have a similar list of things I to do during what I call, “Ignore the canine time.” My list:
    1. Steal potato chips from the bowl when he takes his eyes off them.
    2. Chase the cat over his lap at the time he’s about to take a sip of beer.
    3. Go to the door and bark 3 times like I need to go out to use the facilities (and I don’t).
    4. Turn over his glass with my tail and walk through the beer before he can clean it up.
    5. Jump on the couch and sit on the remote, turning off the TV at the most critical point in the game.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandy! I like your list of things to do during football time! I’ve got to ask – how does #5 go over? My mother always said to not talk during football. Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. Rachel says:

    Sounds like you are enjoying those golf weekends to the max! I like Murder She Wrote too!

    I’m glad you are having a visit to Houston! I’ll bet they are also!! Enjoy!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, I definitely enjoy the golf weekends a lot! Murder She Wrote, Matlock and Beverly Hillbillies have always been my favorite tv shows!

      It was really nice to see my parents, but… I think they enjoyed the grandchildren better than me! 🙂 My father seems to be getting stronger and better!

  3. Jim says:

    When we first moved here to our retirement neighborhood a man met me and gave me a Bible. He saidthat he taught the “Widow ‘s Sunday School Class.”
    I said that I hadn’t realized there were so many widows in the subdivision.
    He said, “O, they are mostly ‘golf widows’.”
    ..
    I enjoyed reading Sandy’s comments. Aid (our Beagla dog) might like to read those! I know that she would act like that.
    ..

  4. Jim says:

    Our dog is named “Adi” and Adi, I am sorry for mispelling your name here.
    Adi’s meme
    ..
    BTW, you’ve not left yet and already we are missing you!
    ..

  5. Ray says:

    Me time is great, isn’t it? Clears the cobwebs from the brain, I think.

Leave a Reply

